Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


APRJA is an open-access research journal that addresses the ever-shifting thematic frameworks of digital culture. The journal’s title APRJA stands for “A Peer-Reviewed Journal About” and invites the addition of a research topic to address what is considered to be a key aspect of contemporary digital culture – and thereby to complete the title of each journal issue. We take a particular interest in aesthetic production and artistic research in relation to the broad field of software studies (including media archaeology, platform politics, and interface criticism).

APRJA has an ongoing collaboration with transmediale – festival for art and digital culture berlin and thereby places an emphasis on the work of researchers working both within and outside the academy. The festival themes act as a point of departure for each journal issue.


APRJA issues (2011-16):

Excessive Research, 5.1 (2016)
 - Contributions from Aideen Doran, Pablo R. Velasco González, Nathan Jones, Sumugan Sivanesan, Cornelia Sollfrank, Wolfgang Sützl, Marie Louise Juul Søndergaard, Tessa Zettel.

Datafied Research, 4.1 (2015)
 - Contributions from James Charlton, Daniel C. Howe, Lea Muldtofte Olsen, Renée Ridgway, Ned Rossiter, Audrey Samson, Winnie Soon, Minka Stoyanova, Soenke Zehle.

Post-Digital Research, 3.1 (2014)
 - Contributions from Jamie Allen, Christian Ulrik Andersen, Josephine Bosma, Christophe Bruno, James Charlton, Budhaditya Chattopadhyay, Florian Cramer, Geoff Cox, Jonas Fritsch, Robert Jackson, Magnus Lawrie, Alessandro Ludovico, Georgios Papadopoulos, Lotte Philipsen, Søren Bro Pold, Morten Riis, Eric Snodgrass, Winnie Soon, Bodil Marie Stavning Thomsen.

#BWPWAP, 2.1 (2013) - Contributions from Mikkel Bech-Hansen, Yara Guasque, Marcello Lussana, Francesco Macarone Palmieri, Andrew Prior, Helen Pritchard, Sheila Ribeiro, Renée Ridgway, Florian Alexander Schmidt, Matthias Tarasiewicz, Magda Tyżlik-Carver, Gabriel Vanegas.

In/Compatible Research, 1.2 (2012)
 - Contributions from Christian Ulrik  Andersen, Cesar Baio, Tatiana Bazzichelli, Zach Blas, Morten Breinbjerg, Geoff Cox, Jacob Gaboury, Joana B. Jucan, Tero Karppi, Thomas Bjørnsten Kristensen, Magnus Lawrie, Giannina Lisitano, Aymeric Mansoux, Gabriel Menotti, Andrew Murphie, Jussi Parikka, Søren Bro Pold, Morten Riis, Lasse Scherffig, Cornelia Sollfrank, Mathias Tarasiewicz, Tiziana Terranova, Marie Thompson, Nina Wenhart, Carolin Wiedemann, Siegfried Zielinski.

Public Interfaces, 1.1 (2011)
 - Contributions from Christian Ulrik Andersen, Tatiana Bazzichelli, Robert Brown, Kevin Carter, Geoff Cox, Nina Gram, Robert Jackson, Joasia Krysa, Jacob Lund, Lars Bo Løfgreen, Malcolm Miles, Søren Bro Pold, Zoran Poposki, Andrew Prior, Mikkel Bolt Rasmussen, Morten Riis, Jan Løhmann Stephensen, Magda Tyzlik-Carver.